Writing Contests

John Ciardi Prize for Poetry

G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction

$1,000 and book publication for each prize

Submission Deadline: Contest entries temporarily suspended

2020 Contest Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of our most recent contests:

John Ciardi Prize for Poetry: Laura Minor of Jacksonville, Florida. Selected by John Hodgen.

G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction: Amin Ahmad of Durham, North Carolina. Selected by Stephanie Powell Watts.

(The 2020 contest entry deadline was January 15, 2020.)

Electronic Submissions should include:

Postal Submissions should include:

Mail to: 

John Ciardi Prize or G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize, 

BkMk Press, 5101 Rockhill Road, Kansas City, MO 64110

  • No faxed or emailed submissions, please.
  • Simultaneous and multiple submissions are acceptable. Please notify us of acceptance elsewhere.
  • Current students and employees of the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and current volunteer members of the New Letters and BkMk Press staffs, are not eligible.
  • Manuscripts will not be returned. No refunds will be issued.
  • Judging will be blind at all levels. Initial judging will be done by a network of published writers and editors. The final judging will be done by a poet and a fiction writer of national reputation. 2021 winners will be announced August, 2021 and the winning entries will be published in 2022. These competitions are held annually.
  • BkMk Press supports the CLMP Code of Ethics for literary contests.