Recent Titles

Poetry from Beverly Burch, Dara Yen Elerath, Patricia Cleary Miller, Deborah Miranda, and Roderick Townley, and  short fiction from Lorraine M. Lopez, Jennifer Wisner Kelly, Patricia Lawson, and Scott Nadelson.

BkMk Press Celebrates 50 Years

BkMk Press was founded in 1971 at the Johnson County Library in Kansas. It officially became part of the University of Missouri-Kansas City in 1983 under the leadership of founder Dan Jaffe. In 2021, BkMk is planning several events in celebration of this milestone anniversary.

Latest Prize Winners

We are pleased to announce our latest prize winners:

John Ciardi Prize for Poetry: Laura Minor for Flowers as Mind Control. 
Selected by John Hodgen.

G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction: Amin Ahmad for This Is Not My Country. 
Selected by Stephanie Powell Watts.

Prize-winning Books This Fall

Click the photos for more information.

One of Us by Scott Nadelson, winner of the G. S. Sharat Chandra Prize for Short Fiction, is out now.

Dark Braid by Dara Yen Elerath, winner of the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry, is out now.

We Stand
in Solidarity

BkMk Press and our affiliates New Letters and New Letters on the Air stand in solidarity with our black writers, readers, listeners, friends, and community.

We have long made it our mission “to discover, publish, and promote the best and most exciting literary writing, wherever it might be found.” Implicit in this statement is our commitment to inclusion—to searching far and wide for a diversity of voices.